'Meditations' by Marcus Aurelius
'Meditations' by Marcus Aurelius
The complete 12 books on Stoicism in today's language. Two hours in length.

Delve deep into the mind of one of ancient Rome's greatest emperors, Marcus Aurelius, with this modernized version of his rich text, 'Meditations.' In this reflective journey, we unravel the Stoic philosophy deeply ingrained in the Emperor's personal contemplations, transforming ancient thought into a beacon for contemporary souls.

'Meditations' is believed to have originally been Marcus Aurelius's personal journal, a space where he documented his philosophical reflections and observations guided by stoic principles. It was not intended for public eyes; it was a tool of self-reflection, a way for the emperor to reinforce and revisit the stoic principles that guided his leadership and personal growth.

Despite the repetitive nature of the work, owing to its background as a personal diary, it holds priceless nuggets of wisdom that resonate profoundly, even today. Through its introspective lens, Marcus Aurelius offers timeless advice on coping with life's challenges, grounding oneself through rationality, and aspiring towards virtuous living.

Whether you approach it as a historical lens into ancient Rome and Stoic philosophy or a meditative guide to navigating modern life's complex terrains, 'Meditations' holds something special for everyone. While this modernized version preserves the raw, honest, and thoughtful essence of the original work, it makes the text more accessible, bridging the gap between ancient wisdom and contemporary life.


  • 0:00 Intro and setting the scene
  • 1:31 Book 1: Gratitude and Reflections
  • 8:06 Book 2: Guiding Principles
  • 14:40 Book 3: Appreciating Life and Nature's Nuances
  • 22:04 Book 4: Finding Inner Tranquility
  • 34:17 Book 5: A Guide to Everyday Living
  • 45:20 Book 6: Navigating the Universe
  • 57:23 Book 7: Interconnected Reality
  • 01:09:39 Book 8: Finding One's True Path
  • 01:21:00 Book 9: Living Authentically in a Complex World
  • 01:30:04 Book 10: Finding Balance in Being
  • 01:39:37 Book 11: Discovering Your True Self
  • 01:49:32 Book 12: Embracing the Now
  • 01:55:47 Outtro

What's your reaction?



0 comment

Write the first comment for this!

Facebook Conversations